h1

Real life intrudes

August 18, 2009

"Sentinal" by Tim Griffith

"Sentinel" by Tim Griffith

There is more brewing here at Critical Terrain, in particular more meditations from estimable photographers of the built environment (Greg Girard, Stanley Greenberg, and Philipp Schaerer on the contested values of “truth” in photography (née the Edgar Martins kerfuffle), some curious photographs from the archives of Dr. Robert Sommer from his primary research in personal space, and thoughts on the artificial infinite (or concepts of the sublime as defined by Edmund Burke).

Yet real life intrudes, so I want to share a glimpse of what the author of this blog is up to away from his Critical Terrain persona.

Foremost, I have a new job heading up the international photography competition Hey, Hot Shot!. This is a great privilege for a number of reasons: it’s a premier exponent for photographers ready to burst through to the next important level of their career, which is part of what I enjoyed most as a photography book editor. I also get to collaborate with a friend, Jen Bekman, whose creative restlessness drives her to dream up—and execute—bold new ventures. Her team is excellent and I’m excited to stick close to contemporary photography practice, which has seemingly limitless capacity to amaze me.

And relevant to mindblowing photography, I was eager to share my research on the development of modern architectural photography in an essay for an exhibition catalog devoted to the work of Tim Griffith. Tim is a foremost commercial photographer whose parallel art practice comments on the disquiet present states of both architecture and photography. He is as smart conceptually as his work is singular, as evidenced by his contribution to the Edgar Martins discussion.

In a very different vein, you can hear my disembodied voice accented by spacey sound effects recounting century-old folklorish remedies for the maladies that befall infants. The venue is Michael Hearst and Rick Moody’s funny and fretful “Babies” episode of the 18:59 podcast.

I also contributed a wistful anecdote about a mix tape that accompanied a period of major change in my life to Jason Bitner’s upcoming book Cassette From My Ex: Stories and Soundtracks of Lost Loves. My piece is but one of dozens, and you shall learn more if you look at the site.

Lest I forget that my pursuit of an advanced degree in design criticism is soon to resume, the program’s site just got a great new facelift.

Leave a Reply

